Romans 9

October 7, 2006 at 4:08 am (Theology)

The other day I was playing one of the best video games on the planet — Civilization 4. This “megalomania” game allows you to research technology, take over the world, and listen to the wonderful voice of Leonard Nimoy, Civilization 4’s narrator. Well, I start playing and I suddenly discover pottery; a little window for pottery pops up and Nimoy says to me “Hath not the potter power over the clay, of the same lump to make one vessel unto honour, and another unto dishonour”?

And I said to myself, “Whoa,” and I started thinking about the whole Romans 9 passage:

14 What shall we say then? Is there injustice on God’s part? By no means! 15 For he says to Moses, “I will have mercy on whom I have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I have compassion.16 So then it depends not on human will or exertion, but on God, who has mercy. 17 For the Scripture says to Pharaoh, “For this very purpose I have raised you up, that I might show my power in you, and that my name might be proclaimed in all the earth.” 18 So then he has mercy on whomever he wills, and he hardens whomever he wills. 19 You will say to me then, “Why does he still find fault? For who can resist his will?” 20 But who are you, O man, to answer back to God? Will what is molded say to its molder, “Why have you made me like this?” 21 Has the potter no right over the clay, to make out of the same lump one vessel for honored use and another for dishonorable use? 22 What if God, desiring to show his wrath and to make known his power, has endured with much patience vessels of wrath prepared for destruction, 23 in order to make known the riches of his glory for vessels of mercy, which he has prepared beforehand for glory— 24 even us whom he has called, not from the Jews only but also from the Gentiles?

This clearly shows God’s election of the believers. Although it may sound harsh to us, He wills whom He wants into His kingdom. God choosing one group to save and the other to exclude is in no way unfair, unless you think that God is under the obligation to provide salvation for sinners — a position that the Bible rejects. Who are we to question God? We deserve nothing and those who were chosen should be thankful.

I may thought as someone who thinks free will to be “overrated,” but I’m going to stick to this. I do not like the whole idea of election, but it is stated so clearly in Romans 9 that I’d be a fool not to believe it. Who am I, the clay, to question God, the potter.

6 Comments

  1. bonnieq said,

    AMEN! Finally, someone gets it. We are the clay, pitiful and nothing more. Now, if someone would just get what Jesus meant when He said, “Many are called, few are chosen.” They they might understand that it takes more than just believing, for even the demons believe; that grace is to have been called and it takes action on our parts to be chosen: “Faith without works is dead, and works without faith is dead; so you see, it takes both faith and works.”

    Thank you for this very insightful article. You nailed it quite well. Visit me sometime.

    Love in Christ,
    http://bonnieq.wordpress.com
    Truth Seekers and Speakers, link in blogroll
    Unicorn Haven, link in blogroll

  2. -mike- said,

    Election’s for Calvinists.

  3. Rob said,

    lol unicorns don’t exist.

    Hey bonnie, are you suggesting that work on our part confirms our calling? Sounds a bit semi-pelagian to me. I also find it ironic that I’m using that little bit of typical Calvinist vocabulary. I can’t believe this.

    The end is near!

  4. canjoe16 said,

    Ephesians 1 is a kinder gentler presentation to sovereignty in salvation. I find much comfort there myself.

  5. bonnieq said,

    You might find interesting an article I just posted, “ALL, A-L-L, ALL” at http://bonnieq.wordpress.com

    Love in Christ,
    BonnieQ

  6. ecigs said,

    Attractive section of content. I simply stumbled upon
    your site and in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually loved account
    your weblog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feeds or even I achievement you get admission to constantly fast.

Leave a Reply

